Education Centre History

October 1982

The idea of establishing a local education centre was first mooted at a meeting of the Castlebar I.N.T.O. Branch in October 1982, and kept alive in general terms for some time thereafter.

May 1985
Eventually, a general meeting of primary and second-level teachers was organised in May 1985, and a Committee was formed to further the project.
Early 1991

A meeting with Department of Education officials was arranged to discuss the venture. Contact was maintained thereafter, but it took until early 1991 for a letter from the Department to arrive with the welcome news that finally a Teacher's Centre could be established in Castlebar.

A temporary premises was obtained in the De La Salle Sports Hall, and on the 17th October 1991 the first AGM of the Teacher's Centre was held.

Jim McGovern was elected Chairperson and Mairéad Ryan appointed as Director. Mairéad was succeeded by Antoinette Casey in 1994.

1997 - 1999

At the AGM on 20th March 1997 two important events occurred. Firstly, it was decided under the new constitution that the Centre would be known as Mayo Education Centre. Secondly, it was announced that approval had been given by the Minister for Education for the appointment of a full time Director.

On September 1st, 1997 Denis O'Boyle took up his new post as Director of Mayo Education Centre.

In October 1997, Patricia Grealis was appointed as full time secretary.

In 1999, Art Ó Súilleabháin was appointed as the Mayo Education Centre's ICT Advisor.

In the summer of 1997, it was decided to move the Centre to the Parish Centre in Chapel Street. Meanwhile a permanent centre was being sought, and in 1998 it was decided to commence with the building of of a new Education Centre on a site leased by GMIT from the Western Health Board.

2005 - Present Day
On Tuesday 26th April 2005, the Mayo Education Centre was officially opened by President Mary McAleese.

Staff & Committee of Mayo Education Centre

Michael McKenzie - Director

Patricia Carney - Centre Administrator

Anne Patten - Accounts Administrator

Sarah McDonagh - PDST TiE Administrator & Centre Admin

Deirdre Kellett - Clerical Officer

Liam Coll - Part-Time Clerical Officer

Majella Fitzmaurice - Active School Flag Administrator

Kathy Campbell - PDST Primary Health & Well Being Administrator

Mary Kerrigan - House Keeper

Kevin Kerrigan - Caretaker

Management Committee  

  • Chairperson:                         
  • Vice Chairperson:             
  • Treasurer:                              
  • Recording Secretary:    

Committee Members

Location - Eircode: F23HX48


The ESCI (Education Support Centres Ireland) website pulls in courses from Education Centres all over the country allowing you view all courses taking place nationwide.

Mayo Education Centre


Westport Road,
Co. Mayo.
Eircode: F23HX48


Local Buses and carparking available


Tel: (094) 9020700 
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

DES logo 2
NDP trans 0